╌>

A Family Of Syrian Refugees Have Launched Canada's Hottest Chocolate Company

Category:  News & Politics

Via:  krishna  •  7 years ago  •  23 comments

A Family Of Syrian Refugees Have Launched Canada's Hottest Chocolate Company

Article Photo

PEACE BY CHOCOLATE - Long lines regularly form outside of the little shop.

So far, the little chocolate shop on Canada’s east coast has been a big hit, teeming with orders and even hosting a visit from the Canadian Prime Minister.

Hadhad first fell into chocolate-making “by chance,” as Tareq says. Fueled by a sweet tooth, the self-taught chef began borrowing chocolate cookbooks from the Damascus library in the 1980s, and “playing with chocolate whenever he could.” Soon, his father’s hobby morphed into a serious venture.

“He started to create his own recipes,” Tareq goes on. “He started to learn how to roast cocoa beans, make special flavor[s], and mix them with chocolate. He was creating so many different kinds.” By the early 1990s, Assam was running a thriving 30-person chocolate factory in Damascus that exported products across the Middle East and Europe. “We were considered the second [largest] chocolate company in the Middle East,” Tareq explains. “The factory was producing tons of chocolate a day.”

Everything changed in an instant. In 2013, the factory was destroyed by a missile, just minutes after closing for the day.

(Link)

Tags

jrDiscussion - desc
[]

Krishna
Professor Expert
link   seeder  Krishna    7 years ago

“We really lost everything,” says Tareq. “We also lost our home — the entire building of [our] family in Damascus was bombed and burned.” Uprooted by “the crazy war,” the Hadhads fled Syria and joined millions of other Syrian refugees in Lebanese refugee camps. It was a heartbreaking decision: most of the Hadhad family had never travelled, or even boarded a plane, let alone sought asylum in a foreign country.