╌>

Why It’s Time to Repeal the Second Amendment

Category:  News & Politics

Via:  gullivers-island  •  2 years ago  •  358 comments

By:   David S. Cohen

Why It’s Time to Repeal the Second Amendment
“[It] needs to be repealed because it is outdated, a threat to liberty and a suicide pact,” says constitutional law professor

This article from Rolling Stone was written six years ago. It could have been written yesterday and needs to be read today.

S E E D E D   C O N T E N T

I teach the Constitution for a living. I revere the document when it is used to further  social   justice  and make our country a  more   inclusive  one. I admire the Founders for establishing a representative democracy that has survived for over two centuries.

But sometimes we just have to acknowledge that the Founders and the Constitution are wrong. This is one of those times. We need to say loud and clear: The  Second Amendment  must be repealed.

As much as we have a culture of reverence for the founding generation, it’s important to understand that they got it wrong — and got it wrong often. Unfortunately, in many instances, they enshrined those faults in the Constitution. For instance, most people don’t know it now, but  under the original document , Mitt Romney would be serving as President Obama’s vice president right now because he was the runner-up in the last presidential election. That part of the Constitution was fixed by the  Twelfth Amendment , which set up the system we currently have of the president and vice president running for office together.