╌>

Has God Given Enough Evidence for a Rational Faith?

Category:  News & Politics

Via:  xxjefferson51  •  7 years ago  •  365 comments

As a college student, I explored significant doubts I had about my faith. It bothered me that God didn’t make His existence more obvious. In fact, one skeptic made me wonder: Why doesn’t God write “Jesus Saves” on the moon or “Made by God” on each cell?

After carefully examining the evidence, however, I became convinced that God has made himself known (Rom. 1:18–21; 2:14, 15). He has not made Himself known exhaustively, but He has sufficiently. Consider three prominent arguments for the existence of God:

The “Cosmological” Argument
Both scientific and philosophical reasons help us conclude that the cosmos, at some point, had a beginning. Given that something can’t begin to exist without a cause, the cause must be outside the cosmos. Since matter, time and energy simultaneously came into existence at a finite point in the past, the cause is plausibly timeless, immaterial, intelligent, powerful and personal. Simply put, the beginning of the universe points to a Beginner.

Help us champion truth, freedom, limited government and human dignity. Support The Stream »

The Fine-Tuning of the Laws of Physics
The laws of physics that govern the universe are exquisitely fine-tuned for the emergence and sustenance of human life. The slightest changes in any number of physical constants would make our universe inhospitable. The most compelling and reliable explanation for why the universe is so precisely fine-tuned is that an Intelligent Mind made it that way. Simply put, the fine-tuning of the universe points to a Fine-Tuner.

The Moral Argument