╌>

Evangelicals abandoned Christianity — and chose to be 'conservatives' instead

Category:  News & Politics

Via:  john-russell  •  3 years ago  •  6 comments

By:   Raw Story - Celebrating Years of Independent Journalism

Evangelicals abandoned Christianity — and chose to be 'conservatives' instead
Over the last 70 years, Christian theology has been steadily replaced, within the evangelical world, by Republican or "conservative" ideology. I noticed this in my time at an evangelical seminary and during my years in ministry, whenever political discussion would go beyond abortion and gay rights. When the conversation turned towards gun rights, immigration, taxing the wealthy, education or health care, the tenets of Christian theology disappeared behind Republican talking points.

S E E D E D   C O N T E N T

image.jpg?width=1200&height=624  

As a pastor I was always uncomfortable using God's word to pressure people to give money to the church. It seemed like a dirty trick: Play on the fear of disappointing God by convincing people on fixed incomes to provide for my livelihood. So I never did, much to the chagrin of my board of trustees. For the past 70 years, however, evangelical leadership has used this fear of God to raise billions of dollars to fight those the evangelicals have deemed to be the enemies of God. This naturally requires a private jet, a television network, a super PAC and a con artist pastor and politician to lead the way.