╌>

Things are getting real :/

Category:  Other

Via:  summer  •  11 years ago  •  17 comments

Things are getting real :/

So, as many of you know, I am a 3rd year medical student. Well, this month is my second to last rotation of 3rd year. This means that things are starting to get real serious, real fast.

This month I am on my second month of General Surgery. I really don't like the surgeon I'm with all that well - he's a bit of a narcissist (but that's pretty common in gen surg). That said - I absolutely LOVE surgery. At the end of this month, I will have my surgery shelf exam. Shelf exams are basically board prep exams designed to encourage medical students to continue studying while on rotations.

Next month I will have an outpatient internal medicine rotation, for my final rotation of 3rd year. At the end of that month, I will have two more shelf exams - one in psychiatry and one in ob/gyn. I will also have my clinical skills workshop (which is practice for the PE Board Exam).

June is a study month -- at the end of June is my Step II Board Exam. This is an exam that is of extreme importance. First of all, passing this exam is required in order to graduate medical school. Secondly, the board exams scores are very important for securing a residency after graduation. Thirdly, it's an 8 hour exam with a little over 400 questions on it.

July is technically my vacation month - but, because of having kids, I can't do that many "away" or "audition" rotations. So, instead of taking the month off, I will be using this month to do an "audition" rotation at a hospital near my parents. I will be doing this audition rotation in general surgery. So, on top of studying for boards and my shelf exams, I need to be reviewing basic anatomy, medical management of surgical patients, surgical technique and practice suturing all while board studying.