Article Photo

Independence of Animal Forms

Article Photo

The Dreamer

Article Photo

Mother and Child

Article Photo

The Artist Himself

Although I had been representing First Nation musicians and poets for a few years, I had not yet met any First Nation painter-artists, until I received a telephone call from a gallery owner who had heard of my relationship with some of Canadas natives. He had met with Norval Morrisseau, and wanted to enter into an agency agreement with him. Knowing that it was necessary for Morrisseau to have legal representation he asked if I would be willing to act for the artist. I did, and was introduced to Morrisseau. My familiarity with and service to Canadian natives stood me in good stead, and Morrisseau and I were simpatico. The artist was not often simpatico with others, as I will relate here.

I recall one time when the wife of my partner in my firm wanted to buy one of Morrisseaus paintings, so my partner, his wife and I drove up to the reservation in central Ontario where the artist lived. When we got to his home, I told the artists assistant that I had brought my partners wife who would like to see some artworks with the intention of purchasing one. I could then hear Morrisseau shouting that no women were to enter his house. He told his assistant that only I was welcome to come in. When I got inside I could see that he was only partly dressed, and a little inebriated. I told him that he could make some money by letting the woman see some works, but he was adamant but finally allowed my partner to come in, so that he could pick out a painting, which he did. I never knew if it was one which his wife liked. In Morrisseaus very early days, he had been known to sell his paintings for a bottle of liquor, but at least he was now being properly compensated for his artistry.

He became quite famous in Canada, achieving much acclaim and awards, as you can read in the article about him by clicking this link: