╌>

Was Jesus a Real Person?

Category:  Religion & Ethics

Via:  bob-nelson  •  5 years ago  •  16 comments

Was Jesus a Real Person?
https://www.patheos.com/blogs/godlessindixie/2019/05/05/was-jesus-a-real-person/

S E E D E D   C O N T E N T

512 Without googling it, would you know what a CVDP is? Would you immediately know what the CMIP and AMIP are? They are, respectively, a tool for analyzing climatological models and the frameworks climatologists use to correlate, organize, and analyze massive amounts of oceanographic and atmospheric data in order to make sense of patterns in global climates. I had to look them up to know what they are, and I'm probably doing a poor job of defining them since I am not a professional in that field.

Could you imagine being so self-assured that you're an expert in everything that you would publicly deride trained professionals in that discipline for arriving at conclusions which are different from yours?

Once again without googling , would you be able to explain to me the difference between form criticism and source criticism? Would you know without asking what textual and redactional criticism seek to discover? These are tools of the historian of antiquity, particularly where oral traditions make up the bulk of the sources for the ancient texts still available to us today. Those who use these tools to analyze ancient texts and traditions spend years, decades even, applying them to their subject matter in order to try and figure out how these things came into being.