╌>

An open letter to all clergy

Category:  News & Politics

Via:  don-overton  •  5 years ago  •  74 comments

An open letter to all clergy
Where are those voices today? Why are the voices of the faiths that have made America great been silent

S E E D E D   C O N T E N T

When the ruling party and the sitting president of the United States cease to represent the conscience of the American people, and when the rule of law is made a mockery of on a daily basis, who do you expect to step up to the plate and point out that “the emperor is naked?”

Granted, many in the media are doing their level best to expose the severity of the situation. But major media outlets are engaged in an ideological duel that keeps widening the rift in the society as the debate goes around in circles without getting anywhere.

Back in the sixties when I graduated from rabbinical school the conscience of America was being put to the test because of the Vietnam War and the struggle for civil rights, women’s rights, and gay rights. Back in those days, prominent clergy of all backgrounds, such as Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., the Berrigan Brothers, Abraham Joshua Heschel, and many others, were in the forefront of the peace movement, the civil rights movement, and the equal rights movement. I was proud to be an American rabbi, because the voice of conscience was heard loud and clear throughout the land as clergy and lay people alike made America morally great as they put themselves at risk and spoke truth to power.

Where are those voices today? Why are the voices of the faiths that have made America great been silent?