╌>

Stock Market: Dow drops 450 points, biggest fall in 2 months, after Trump says he could wait on China deal

Category:  News & Politics

Via:  krishna  •  5 years ago  •  118 comments

By:   Thomas Franck @TOMWFRANCK - Fred Imbert @FOIMBERT

Stock Market: Dow drops 450 points, biggest fall in 2 months, after Trump says he could wait on China deal
Markets hit the lows of their day after Fox News reported that the White House still plans on moving ahead with scheduled Dec. 15 tariffs on Chinese goods

S E E D E D   C O N T E N T

Photo: Christian Hartmann/Reuters

The Dow Jones Industrial Average fell more than 450 points in morning trading, led lower by trade-vulnerable Apple, Caterpillar and 3M. The S&P 500 slid 1.2% amid losses in chip stocks like Nvidia, Micron and Advanced Micro Devices. The Nasdaq Composite also lost 1.3%.

Both sides have introduced tariffs on billions of dollars’ worth of imports as the disagreement escalated over the last year; additional U.S. tariffs are set to take effect on Dec. 15.

Tuesday’s losses would add to a steep decline from the previous session and by 10:07 a.m. ET were on track to push the Dow to its biggest two-day loss since Oct. 2.

Related:  Here's why Warren Buffett's record $122 billion cash pile could be a worrying sign for stock markets

• Warren Buffett's mountain of cash may be a warning to investors that stocks are overvalued and that a crash is around the corner.
  • The investing guru's firm, Berkshire Hathaway, held a record $122 billion in cash at the end of June.
  • The conglomerate's cash is worth nearly 60% of its portfolio of public companies, the largest proportion since before the financial crisis.

Tags

jrDiscussion - desc
[]

Krishna
Professor Expert
1  seeder  Krishna    5 years ago

Both sides have introduced tariffs on billions of dollars’ worth of imports as the disagreement escalated over the last year; additional U.S. tariffs are set to take effect on Dec. 15.

Krishna
Professor Expert