╌>

'What a privilege it is': Tom Hanks sends letter to Saskatoon typewriter repairman

Category:  Other

Via:  buzz-of-the-orient  •  4 years ago  •  16 comments

By:   Josh Lynn

'What a privilege it is': Tom Hanks sends letter to Saskatoon typewriter repairman

S E E D E D   C O N T E N T

image.jpeg

A photo shared on Facebook shows a letter from Tom hanks received by Thom Cholowski. (Facebook/Thom Cholowski)

SASKATOON -- A self-taught typewriter repair expert's efforts to keep the vanishing trade alive have captured the attention of one of Hollywood's biggest stars.

Tom Hanks,  known to be a typewriter enthusiast himself,  sent a complimentary letter to Saskatoon's Thom Cholowski — which of course was typed.

"What a privilege it is to type a letter to western Canada's premier typewriter repairman," begins the letter addressed to Cholowski, written on Hanks' own letterhead.

Cholowski shared photos of the newly arrived letter on Facebook.

"This arrived in the mail today. Praise from Mr. Tom Hanks," Cholowski said in an Aug. 25 post.

"I’m honoured and speechless, what a class act."

"I know the next time or the first time I'm in Saskatoon, Saskatchewan I'll be darkening your door if only to smell the lubricant of a well-refurbished machine, no matter what the language, braille or Native-Canadian Cree," Hanks wrote to Cholowski.

The letter came in response to a thank-you note Cholowski typed out and sent to the movie star earlier this year.

"Tom Hanks has very much been the celebrity face of typewriters, something that he's always been passionate in," Cholowski told CTV News in an interview.

"Through Tom's advocacy, it's gone from being a nostalgic, old fashioned piece of technology to a point where people are taking a second look at these machines and they're really rediscovering the joy and beauty of these wonderful machines," Cholowski said.