Please Nominate Your Candidates for the 2016 Environmental Hall of Fame/Shame Awards

By:  Que  •  Environment  •  3 years ago  •  5 comments

Please Nominate Your Candidates for the 2016 Environmental Hall of Fame/Shame Awards

Article Photo

It is important that we recognize those who have most affected the environment by their words and actions.  Each year, this site takes a poll to find those most deserving to be in the Environmental Hall of Fame and the Environmental Hall of Shame. Please send  your nominations  for  each category by e-mail through the “Contact the Author”   link or put it in the comment section . If you would, please include a short reason that your nominee should be chosen and suggest a suitable gift if they win.

Nominations  will be taken until January 31st, 2017. The nominees will then be  listed  and this site will conduct a poll to determine the winner in each category.   You may suggest a suitable prize for your nominee. Please be imaginative, as particularly thoughtful or humorous  nominations will  be recognized and published on this site

Past years winners and their suggested awards were:

Hall of Fame Winners – Award

2015        Bill Nye and Neil deGrasse Tyson – for their efforts at educating the public. – A TV show together.

2014       Pope Francis  – for his Protect Creation efforts.  – A strong agreement from the Paris climate conference.

2013       Bill McKibben, founder of 350.org – Many new members so subscribe to his   weekly newsletter  .

2012         President Barack Obama – A little coöperation from Congress, so please write your Representatives.

2011        James Hansen – A massive presence at the  2012 Citizen’s Climate Lobby 

2010        RealClimate.org   –  A recommendation from this site. ( Priceless)

2009       Benno Hansen,  ThinkAboutIt Blogger – A Subscription to Science News.

Hall of Shame 

2015        Governor Rick Snyder of Michigan  –  for  allowing the poisoning of Flint Michigan children  – drinking water                    from the Flint River

2014     Freedom Industries  (  Gary Southern  ) –  A prison cell with drinking water from the Elk River he                                         polluted.

2013        The Koch Bothers –  For funding climate denial. – A boycott of their products: less money, less lobbying.

2012       Donors Trust and Donors Capital Fund  –  An IRS investigation of their of their tax-exempt status.

2011        Halliburton (Cheney)  –     A big glass of water from a well next to a hydrofracking operation.

2010        Koch Brothers – A petition to the Wizard of Oz for  the grant of a social conscience.

2009       SpaceGuy,  Newsvine Blogger – The movie Wall-E,  representing his view of the future of Earth.


  Climate Change global Warming Hall of Fame Hall of Shame Pope Francis President Obama the Koch Brothers

(C) 2017 Que


jrBlog - desc
smarty_function_ntUser_is_admin: user_id parameter required
Dean Moriarty
link   Dean Moriarty    3 years ago

The 2016 hall of shame winner is the EPA for not repealing those ridiculous rules on low water level toilets. Now instead on one flush it takes three to make the poop go down. 

The hall of fame winner is Ferrari for building the most incredible hybrid ever the LaFerrari. 

year: 2017 make: Ferrari Model: LaFerrari price: $ 3400000  Engine: V12 Horsepower @ RPM: 963 Torque @ RPM: 663 Displacement: 6.3 L 0-60 time: 3 sec. Top Speed: 217 mph


link   author  Que  replied to  Dean Moriarty   3 years ago

Thanks for the nominations. That is quite a Ferrari, very few hybrids have a 963 hp engine to charge the batteries.

link   Randy    3 years ago

Hall of Fame is easy. Bill Nye and Neil deGrasse Tyson. Hall of Shame is not listed because he is only recently, but very nastily and especially horribly, active and that would be Donald J. Trump

link   author  Que  replied to  Randy   3 years ago

Thanks for the nominations. Donald Trump didn't take office until 2017, but he probably set enough on the campaign trail to qualify several times over.

link   Randy  replied to  Que   3 years ago

Well, as an alternate to the Hall of Shame I pick Rick Snyder (no relation), since there is no telling how much long term damage has been done to the children of Flint.