╌>

Exceptional America

Category:  News & Politics

Via:  xxjefferson51  •  8 years ago  •  16 comments

Exceptional America
The true significance of our experience is that the era we live in, and the nation we live in, are the most extraordinary in all human history. This is the Golden Age of America.

During the third season of the original Star Trek I coauthored one of the episodes (“The Tholian Web”). I can testify that absolutely no one connected with the show thought that we were engaged in a major cultural event. Yet it was so, as the youth of today will readily tell you.

Some years before the Star Trek adventure I had the privilege of working, for a few weeks, with Gunnar Edenquist. Together, Gunnar and I solved a difficult engineering problem. This was at the beginning of my real education, the education that began after I graduated from the university.

Gunnar started his career as a young engineer working, during the teens of the twentieth century, for aviation pioneer Glenn Martin. In Martin’s small California factory, and later as chief engineer of Kinner Aircraft, Gunnar worked with such young luminaries as Donald Douglas the Lockheed brothers, Jack Northrop, Larry Bell, and Glenn himself. Bill Boeing was also in frequent attendance in the early days as he was learning aviation from the Martin crew. Gunnar knew them all.