╌>

What The Border Wall Really Is About

Category:  Op/Ed

By:  thomas-craig  •  5 years ago  •  66 comments

What The Border Wall Really Is About

As I tell people I am studying for a Bachelors Degree in Information Technology and right now, my class focus is on getting the Security+ certification from CompTIA.  One of the concepts we learn about in the prep and class geared for the Security+ exam is the concept "Defense-In-Depth".  What this means is that you have layers of security not only for your network, but for your location as well.  This is why you see me using the analogies of network defenses and business defenses along with examples of countries that have actual border fences and walls.

What are the primary examples of physical defenses of a location? 

The first line of defense is, if the building(s) are needed to be highly secure (like at Selmet, Inc., Hewlett-Packard's, and Weyerhaeuser's facilities near where I live), a fence of some type with gates at the entry locations to prevent access by intruders not only for security purposes of what is contained inside but for the intruder's safety.  Selmet and Weyerhaeuser both have heavy equipment operating most, if not all of the time. 

The second line of defense is security guards.  They monitor video cameras and patrol the area from time to time looking for unauthorized personnel, when they aren't manning a guard station to allow or deny access to people trying to enter at the gates or the building(s) entrances.