╌>

A New Grill For Grilling Season

Category:  Wine & Food

By:  evilgenius  •  3 years ago  •  77 comments

A New Grill For Grilling Season
BBQ - Because you can't live a full life on an empty stomach.

I am no novice to grilling. I've been grilling on a small gas grill for many years now, but this week my gf purchased the Rec Tec 340 pellet smoker grill for my late Christmas gift. It came with 7 bags of pellets and all I had to do to put it together was put the hinges and the lid on. Tonight I'll do a burn in - which is just running the smoker at high temp for an hour to burn off all the dust and "season" the metal. Rec Tec grills are also a "smart grill" which means it connects to my home wifi. The Rec Tec Grilling app allows me to start, stop, change and monitor temps from my iPhone. This will be handy next winter when it's colder. 

Yesterday during my lunch break I stopped at the local butcher shop and picked up a 8.64lbs pork shoulder for my first smoke. I'll get things ready for tomorrow morning and start things up before the sun rises. For my rub I'll use sea salt, cracked pepper, onion powder, garlic powder, paprika and brown sugar for good bark caramelization. I haven't looked too closely at the meat, but if necessary I'll trim the cap down to under a 1/4" and remove the big vein that runs through the underside. 

Saturday morning I'll set the grill temp at 250 degrees. Apply the rub to the meat and set in the grill cap side up for 3 hours. After 3 hours I'll spritze the shoulder with a 1:1 ratio of apple juice and apple cider vinegar every 30 to 45 minutes until the internal meat temp reaches 160 degrees. As important as this internal meat temp is the cap fat should not spring back when I poke it. It should have a nice crust to it as well.