╌>

Words we've ruined

Category:  History & Sociology

By:  outis  •  3 months ago  •  18 comments

Words we've ruined

Let's explore the words that we've destroyed through misuse.

_v=63f541706485645

Etymology is fun. Yup, I really believe that. Where words were born and how they got to be where they are now.

Clear, concise communication requires all parties to understand the same things from the same words. Sloppy speech is anti-social. Then again... I've been called a grammar-Nazi .

Tags

jrDiscussion - desc
[]

Outis
Freshman Principal
1  author  Outis    3 months ago

The use of vocabulary on NewsTalkers is... interesting...

Buzz of the Orient
Professor Expert
1.1  Buzz of the Orient  replied to  Outis @1    3 months ago

Interesting?  Often I've found it to be misleading to the extent of incompetent, but perhaps I'm being unfair because I majored in English Literature and taught English in a high school for 6 years and privately after that.  The only time I'll use words that have been misused and misconstrued, especially politicized, such as "woke" is to say what they really mean, because to me it means having ended sleep, and nobody is going to stop me from using the usual masculine and feminine words.

Thank you for posting interesting topics.  Sorry if I can't comment intelligently on them since you mostly use YouTube and web sites that I'm unable to open.  I'm quite happy that your articles push political topics off the page, but please go easy on my movie quizzes and jokes.  

Thomas
Senior Guide
2  Thomas    3 months ago

A show that I found on NPR called " A Way with Words " swims in a common stream...

Krishna
Professor Expert
3  Krishna    3 months ago

I’ve been called a grammar Nazi”.

I’ve been called many things online. Even accused of being “Anti-Semantic”. 

Which is totally false.

OTOH some people have said I’m actually a very cunning linguist!

Buzz of the Orient
Professor Expert