Here's what the seven stages of severe COVID-19 look like - Los Angeles Times

Category:  News & Politics

Via:  jbb  •  3 weeks ago  •  12 comments

By:   Karen Gallardo (Los Angeles Times)

Here's what the seven stages of severe COVID-19 look like - Los Angeles Times
A respiratory therapist's view of how the worst cases of COVID fare. They rarely end well.

S E E D E D   C O N T E N T

A COVID-19 patient in an ICU in December. (Francine Orr / Los Angeles Times) By Karen GallardoAug. 26, 2021 3:01 AM PT

I'm a respiratory therapist. With the fourth wave of the pandemic in full swing, fueled by the highly contagious Delta variant, the trajectory of the patients I see, from admission to critical care, is all too familiar. When they're vaccinated, their COVID-19 infections most likely end after Stage 1. If only that were the case for everyone.

Get vaccinated. If you choose not to, here's what to expect if you are hospitalized for a serious case of COVID-19.

Stage 1. You've had debilitating symptoms for a few days, but now it is so hard to breathe that you come to the emergency room. Your oxygen saturation level tells us you need help, a supplemental flow of 1 to 4 liters of oxygen per minute. We admit you and start you on antivirals, steroids, anticoagulants or monoclonal antibodies. You'll spend several days in the hospital feeling run-down, but if we can wean you off the oxygen, you'll get discharged. You survive.

Stage 2. It becomes harder and harder for you to breathe. "Like drowning," many patients describe the feeling. The bronchodilator treatments we give you provide little relief. Your oxygen requirements increase significantly, from 4 liters to 15 liters to 40 liters per minute. Little things, like relieving yourself or sitting up in bed, become too difficult for you to do on your own. Your oxygen saturation rapidly declines when you move about. We transfer you to the intensive care unit.