╌>

D U O A Y W H T D U Y

Category:  Religion & Ethics

By:  hal-a-lujah  •  4 years ago  •  20 comments

D U O A Y W H T D U Y
A true short story for you:

I was about to respond to a response from a member on one of their seeds, when the the lock switch was thrown and I was denied the opportunity.  The issue at hand involved the ethics of deporting and separation of children from their parents at the border.  I didn’t want it to go to waste, so here it is.

A true short story for you:

About 15 years ago I was in a very bad way.  The region I was living in was in recession, I lost my job, was squatting in my house while I searched for work to support myself and my kids, getting regular calls and mail about my delinquent mortgage.  Though I was an office professional, I would take any odd job no matter how laborious.  My ex mother in law hired me to install a wooden privacy fence and fix the crumbling foundation of the garage at her rental unit that my ex wife was (is) living in.

I had few tools so I had to mix an entire pallet of bagged concrete for the jobs by hand.  It was torture for $10/hr.  It was a four car garage, about 70 years old.  I had to remove the old broken concrete foundation, set new concrete, and rebuild the back wall.  As I was scoping out the work I noticed something - there were 12 columns evenly spaced on the foundation.  I had an epiphany - I could leave my mark forever imprinted into the fresh concrete, discretely placed along the base of the exterior wall.  As I placed the hand mixed concrete I etched DO UNTO OTHERS AS YOU WOULD HAVE THEM DO UNTO YOU in the spaces between the columns.